Skip to content

c is for celeritas

May 12, 2011
c, the letter used in equations to stand in for the speed of light; for celeritas, “swiftness” or “speed”.

c, a letter also used to stand in for something our society still has a lot of trouble dealing with and coming to terms with: “the big c”. see, many of us are not even able to say it a lot of the time… cancer.

naming this blog was kind of random. I tried to find a word that described speed, because these days I’m moving at the speed of light. and in the end I came across a c-word to describe my experience of “the big c-word”.

a handful of days ago I was diagnosed with breast cancer—this was not what I was expecting. this was not what I was planning for my life these past months as I’ve pursued music school, work, making my own music, and enjoying friends and family.

I was diagnosed a week after I turned 35. this was not how I expected my 35th birthday to be. so it goes, I guess. it hasn’t really fully set in to me yet. it still seems unreal.

I’ve made this blog to try to reach out to you in some way. maybe you’re a friend or family member, or even a stranger who’s trying to figure out this stuff for yourself or someone in your life. either way I hope it will be helpful to you.

I am pretty tried and true introvert, so this is my way of keeping you in the loop without me having to add “heart attack” to my health concerns from me being overwhelmed. jo-king.

yes, this blog will include jokes. some might even be in slightly poor taste! honestly, in the time so far that I’ve been dealing with this, humour has been one of my biggest allies. so consider yourself warned.

you might also find some crassness and slightly bad-mannered language. these, well, what do you want, sometimes you need to swear, so yah.

I realize I haven’t told you much yet in the this first post, but I’ll get around to it soon enough.

I will leave you, though, with one thought … something I thought of a little while back while dealing with a previously difficult thing in my life, I thought: “Wow, this is some pretty random bad shit!”, and it was true, things were pretty bad, but honestly and truly, a couple of seconds later I was forced to admit that if life could bring me “random bad shit”, that it could also, equally bring me “random good shit”. and if there’s one thing I can say about this experience so far, it’s that although much of this definitely fits squarely into the first category, so far life has also be bringing me ample examples of the second category as well. well, so it goes.

No comments yet

Leave a comment